top of page

Mission Statements, Disclaimers and a Small Soap Box


I suppose a bit should be said about this project, and what should be expected by those kind enough to take the time to visit, and patient enough to stay a while. (Thank you in advance, by the way.)

I'm sure you can relate, when I say that the last few years have been a towering salad bar of challenges: career, home life, the chaos of Covid and social/political conflicts have tested us to the limits of our metaphysical seams. Certainly, the foundations of our frustrations and despair go much farther back, though I will leave it to you to decide the date.

Now I would be lying if I claimed that I haven't witnessed some incredible acts of courage, sympathy, humor and all-out, no holds barred love, during this time. Frankly, those have been the mental multi-vitamins that helped keep me going. But those are easily lost among the tsunami of anger, conflict, tragedy and of course the bleak trail of 'isms': all of which spray a neon-rich, bleeding image on daily headlines.

I admit, there was a time when I thought I could save the world. I just needed a few bucks and some good ideas. I was convinced that global security, decent living and healthy skies were within reach. Yeah, I know. That child was foolish, as children often are. But he wasn't necessarily wrong; he just didn't have perspective. Today, I'm well aware that I can't save this planet alone: not even with a well-trained army and a massive bank account.

But I can help. I can walk into this English garden of words and pick a few of the best-looking fruits. And perhaps with some luck, I'll mix them into a meal for you: ready whenever you're hungry. And at this technological table I'll be waiting: to share some thoughts on how to find silver linings, see the trees and the jungle, and perhaps you'll like what I'm cooking. And better yet, you'll pass it on.

And so this is a place where my romantic side does an awkward line dance with my old friends Humor, Sympathy, and Wonder, while holding hands with a child that thought he could save the world. It doesn't pretend to be the answer to all the complex problems, but I believe it's better than staying silent in a desert of desperation, that could be a forest of hope.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our Mom

I can see tonight's keyboard highway stretching far from the starting point: a glass of chilled vodka sitting next to this morning's empty coffee mug. (I wonder what sorts of conversations they have;

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page